The winemaker’s

first choice

After the terroir, the first choice the winemaker has to make is the grape variety he will plant in his plot of land. The grape variety is not the sole determining factor of the wine’s character: each variety, with its own particular characteristics, is merely a means of expression of the terroir. The art of winemaking lies in choosing the grape varieties best suited to the terroir in question and in understanding the wines produced. Then comes the moment of assembling these wines into the final blend.
 
Château Larcis Ducasse is currently planted with 78% Merlot and 22% Cabernet Franc at a density of 6000 vines per hectare and an average age of 35 years.
A programme of continuous vineyard renewal is in place with a rotation of around 50 to 60 years. Following uprooting and four years of intercrops to allow the soil to rest, we replant at higher densities, today approaching 7500 vines per hectare, using vine stock from high-quality clones or, more often, from massal selection. In fact, in order to preserve our diverse winemaking heritage we have implemented a major selection programme of the oldest vine stock using only qualitative criteria.
 
Merlot
Merlot occupies the majority of Château Larcis Ducasse’s vineyards (78%), taking full advantage of the limestone-clay soils where it expresses its full roundness, generosity, suppleness and sophistication.
With a seductive richness from a very early stage, as a young plant it produces powerful yet silky, very fruity wines with spicy and floral notes.
As they age, the fruity notes of cherry and blackberry fade and give way to a developed, more complex bouquet combining truffle with undergrowth and other spicy elements.
 
Cabernet Franc
Planted in its favourite type of soil at Larcis Ducasse (sandy clay with varying levels of limestone), the Cabernet Franc produces very elegant, aromatic wines with firm yet fine tannins. Marked in its youth by red fruit aromas, in particular strawberry, raspberry and blackcurrant, it also develops tobacco and violet notes.
In blends it provides freshness, aromatic complexity, finesse and elegance, as well as great capacity to age.

titre-cepages

Le premier choix que le vigneron a à réaliser, après celui du terroir, est celui du cépage qu’il plante sur sa parcelle de terre. Ce cépage ne détermine pas à lui seul le caractère du vin : chaque cépage, avec ses caractéristiques propres, n’est que le moyen d’expression du terroir. Tout l’art du vigneron consiste à choisir les cépages les mieux adaptés à son terroir et à comprendre les vins qui en sont issus. Ensuite, viendra le temps de les marier pour parvenir à l’assemblage du vin.

Le Château Larcis Ducasse est actuellement planté de 78 % de merlot et 22 % de cabernet franc, le tout à une densité de 6000 pieds par hectares, avec une moyenne d’âge de 35 ans environ.

Un programme de renouvellement continu du vignoble est mis en place sur une rotation de 50 à 60 ans environ. Après arrachage et 4 ans de cultures intercalaires pour le repos du sol, nous replantons à des densités plus élevées, approchant aujourd’hui les 7500 pieds par hectare, des pieds de vigne issus de clones qualitatifs ou le plus souvent, de sélections massales. En effet, afin de préserver notre patrimoine viticole diversifié, nous avons mis en œuvre un important programme de sélection des plus vieux pieds de vigne sur des critères exclusivement qualitatifs.

Merlot

Dans le vignoble du Château Larcis Ducasse, le merlot est très majoritaire (78%), bénéficiant pleinement des terres argilo-calcaires sur lesquelles il exprime toute sa rondeur, sa générosité, sa souplesse et sa race.
Séduisant très tôt par sa gourmandise, il donne dès sa jeunesse des vins à la fois puissants et soyeux, très fruités, avec des notes épicées et florales.
En vieillissant, les notes fruitées de cerise et de mûre s’estompent et laissent la place à un bouquet aux notes évoluées plus complexes, allant de la truffe aux sous-bois en passant par d’autres notes épicées.

Cabernet Franc

Planté à Larcis Ducasse sur son sol de prédilection, argilo-sableux plus ou moins calcaire, il donne des vins très élégants, aromatiques, aux tanins à la fois fermes et fins. Marqué jeune par ses arômes de fruits rouges, en particulier de fraise, de framboise et de cassis, il développe aussi des notes de tabac et de violette.
En assemblage, il apporte fraicheur, complexité aromatique, finesse et élégance sans oublier sa grande capacité de vieillissement.