Ridge

elevation

Beneath the ledges of the limestone plateau, the advance of the Côte Pavie molasses mass has created a ridge elevation with a drop of nearly 50 metres.

The reasons for cultivating vines on hillsides (rather than rumps or valleys) have been proven many times. Sunshine conditions are exceptional and the natural drainage is ideal. However, water circulates so quickly on slopes that there can be considerable damage caused if no attempt is made to combat erosion. Hedge preservation, work on soil permeability and the installation of surface water drainage within grassy avenues have enabled us to better regulate run-off water, which is abundant during storm rainfall.

A single piece of land, the Château Larcis Ducasse vineyard covers multiple, primarily sedimentary, geological formations, which explain the elevations. Moving down from the Côte there is an outcrop of tertiary soils, creating three types of prime winemaking terroirs:

  • The ‘Plateau de Saint Emilion’, a large slab of asteriated limestone
  • The ‘Grande Côte de Saint-Emilion’, known as the Côte Pavie, a long and steep slope descending towards the South (slopes of up to 25%)
  • The ‘Pied de Côte de Saint-Emilion’: a slope with a gentle incline (2-5%), made up of molasses and then fluvial sands and covered with sandy clay soil

The estate commissioned David Pernet (Sovivins) to perform a complete study of soil profiles, creating 85 zoning holes. This led to a better understanding of viticultural behaviour, and was valuable to us on the ground, as it has enabled us to optimise the terroir’s potential by ensuring the most judicious choices for viticulture and winemaking.
This collection of high-quality terroirs, alongside the grape varieties used, creates a range of expressions as diverse as they are complementary. This nourishes the complexity and nobility of the wines produced by Château Larcis Ducasse.

titre-sol

En contrebas des corniches du plateau calcaire culminant, l’avancée de la masse des molasses de la Côte Pavie dessine un relief en dorsale sur une dénivelée atteignant près de 50 mètres.

L’intérêt de cultiver la vigne en coteau, plus encore en croupe qu’en combe, n’est plus à démontrer. L’ensoleillement y est exceptionnel et le drainage naturel idéal. Toutefois, la circulation de l’eau est tellement rapide en pente que les dégâts pourraient s’avérer considérables si on ne luttait pas contre les phénomènes d’érosion. La préservation des haies, un travail sur la perméabilité des sols et l’installation de drains superficiels dans les allées enherbées nous permettent de mieux réguler les eaux de ruissellement, abondantes sous les pluies orageuses.

D’un seul tenant, le vignoble du Château Larcis Ducasse est planté sur plusieurs formations géologiques, essentiellement sédimentaires, qui expliquent ses reliefs. En descendant la Côte, les terrains tertiaires affleurant donnant naissance à trois grands types de terroirs viticoles privilégiés :

  • Le « Plateau de Saint Emilion », une puissante table de Calcaire à Astéries.
  • La « Grande Côte de Saint-Emilion », dite Côte Pavie, un long versant sud aux pentes fortes (jusqu’à 25% d’inclinaison).
  • Le « Pied de Côte de Saint-Emilion » : pente qui s’adoucit sensiblement (de 2 à 5 %), constituée de molasses puis de sables fluviatiles et recouverts d’un sol sablo-argileux.

Une étude complète de profils pédologiques a été commandée par la propriété à David Pernet (Sovivins) avec la réalisation de 85 fosses de zonage. Conduisant à une meilleure compréhension des comportements viticoles, elle nous est précieuse sur le terrain pour optimiser les potentialités du terroir par les choix les plus judicieux en viticulture et en vinification.

Une telle palette de terroirs qualitatifs, combinée aux cépages, donne naissance à des expressions aussi diverses que complémentaires. Cette déclinaison nourrit la complexité et la noblesse des vins produits au Château Larcis Ducasse.